Young Artist Competition Winners

Thank you to all that participated in this year’s La Jolla Symphony & Chorus Young Artists competition. Despite the challenges presented to us by an all-virtual format, we received an overwhelmingly inspiring group of entries. The talent and hard work of this year’s group of competitors made our judges’ work no easy task!

Special thanks to our Vocal Judges: Dan Mobbs and Ann Moss and our Instrumental Judges: Daniel Wnukowski and Annabelle Terbetski for their sincere thoughtfulness in choosing the winners. Thank you also to our all-volunteer YAC committee members: Elena Yarritu, Jeanne Saier, Fiona Chatwin and Laurinda Nikkel for their dedication to music education in San Diego. Finally, thank you to the LJS&C administrative team, Melanie Intrieri and Adam Perez, for navigating the complex back-end logistics of a virtual competition!

Once again, CONGRATULATIONS to ALL that participated in this years’ competition! We wish all of you every success with all of your future musical pursuits and we look forward to hearing you perform again, sometime in the future!

Stephanie Weaver Yankee, DMA
Executive Director, La Jolla Symphony & Chorus


First place: Anais Feller
Second Place: Stacy Widyono
Third place: Nithin Chilakapati
Honorable Mention: Susan Lee
Most Promising: Janice Hu
Best Contemporary Performance: Hazel Friedman


First place: Catherine Durcan
Second Place: Trevor Haumschilt
Third place: Amanda Olea
Honorable Mention: Diego Leon Alvarez
Most Promising: Lizze Fisher
Best Contemporary Performance: Catherine Durcan